defydemure











{February 11, 2012}   The Objective: Real Girls

There’s nothing I hate more than a weak female character. A character that behaves no better, and even sometimes worse, than an animal. One whose only objective is materialistic, with a thought process no deeper than a puddle. I know these type of women exist, but they are nothing to revolve a story around and certainly nothing to promote.

Yet everywhere you look that type of woman has permeated through our culture, to such a ridiculous degree that one is left to believe that a strong, smart, capable female is not only the exception but a bizarre anomaly. In life, of course, this is not the case. If it were, all of society would shut down. In fact, civilization probably wouldn’t have gotten any further than discovering fire.

Maybe it’s lazy writing, maybe it’s an attempt to put others down as a way to bolster themselves up, maybe their mommy didn’t love them enough, maybe… oh honestly, I don’t care why, I just want it to stop.

Now I could call out all the pathetic depictions out there but I don’t think fighting negative with negative will get anyone anywhere in life. So instead I’m going to celebrate the positive.

So that’s what this site is about; celebrating the real girls in literature and film. Women with intelligence, humor and strength. Three dimensional beings with a heart and mind that stand side by side with their male counterparts, not meekly following behind.

I hope you’ll join me in the celebration.



Leave a comment

et cetera